The Clean Plate Club

Mango Panna Cotta

As I think ahead into the future, I realize that last summer might just have been my last summer in Miami. I have to admit, I have a love/hate relationship with the city I call home. It is always hot, the traffic is awful, and an article on Forbes just named Miami the worst city to find a job. On the other hand, its always hot (something you come to appreciate when the weather in Chicago drops into the single digits), you can get Cuban coffee for a few cents, there is always an abuelita somewhere ready to feed you, and every one has a mango tree in their back yard. My last point is what inspires this post… every summer every one’s backyard is filled with so many delicious mangoes that after a few weeks you swear you will never eat a mango again…. until next summer right before the season starts when you get an antojo for this amazing gift from the gods.

A few summers ago, my friend’s backyard was filled with hundred of mangoes that he needed to get rid of and would often drop of several at my house. I wanted to try something new with these most prized possessions, and it just so happened that I was on a panna cotta kick that summer as well. My family was growing tired of eating chocolate panna cotta every weekend as I worked to perfect it, so I decided I’d give them something a little different…. MANGO panna cotta.

The result was a much welcomed change to the month’s chocolate panna cotta overload. Thinking back, I would have loved to have served this with some grilled mangoes or maybe a raspberry compote, but that will have to wait until another summer. Until then, I patiently await my next mango.

 

I’m not sure what recipe I used all those summers ago, but this one seems promising, so definitely check it out.

This entry was written by marialopezboada and published on February 6, 2012 at 10:47 pm. It’s filed under / local chefs / and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

