The Clean Plate Club

Child’s Play: Simple Lunches and Dreams of Herb Gardens

If there is one thing I miss about living back home with my parents in having an herb garden outside. My cramped studio apartment doesn’t even have counter space, so even growing herbs in pots on a windowsill is out of the question.

Still, a girl can dream.

Having your own fresh herbs is amazing. Not only does it save you money (I bought the actual sage plant pictured in this post for less than $3 and it gave me lots and lots of sage), but it also elevates the simplest of meals into heavenly indulgences. On my list of things to do/have once I’m done with graduate school and have a real adult job and apartment is to once again grow my own herbs.

Take this pasta here. All I did was cook some penne in chicken stock that I needed to use up before it went bad and then tossed it in a frying pan with butter, truffle oil, and sage. This took no time at all, but made my average afternoon a little more special.

For now though, I’ll continue to glare at my tiny kitchen and dream of my future cooking space.

This entry was written by marialopezboada and published on January 17, 2012 at 12:00 pm. It’s filed under / local chefs / and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

